Distinguished Team Awards: 2002

Dining Services Training Team

Team members: Craig Bowman, Michael Langan, Stephanie Patton, and Viriginia Reinink.

The Dining Services Training Team developed an innovative program to formally train entry-level Dining Service employees in order to provide employment opportunities to individuals not typically qualified to fill those positions. Along with providing new opportunities, this training program also satisfied department goals of continuous quality improvement. This weeklong training program has received five-state regional recognition from the National Association of College and University Food Services, and has served as a model for other training programs, both on-campus and at other universities. The Dining Services Training Team, comprised of service and management employees demonstrated the true meaning of teamwork and proved what can be accomplished when people pull together for one common goal.



Recruitment CD Committee

Team members: Bill Bitzinger, Jeff Gabalis, Raymond Gant, Kent Kachaterian, Donna Smith, Susan Starkey, Adam Wetherell, and Louise Yowtz.

This cross-divisional committee produced a CD-Rom to be used as an effective, national recruitment tool for faculty and administrative employees. This tool combines technology and information in an innovative way and emphasizes the University's accomplishments and its role as a national leader in many areas of education. This team was able to deliver its product in a short period of time and at little cost to the University by producing it "in-house." In effectively accomplishing its goals through cross-divisional cooperation, the Recruitment CD Committee demonstrated those qualities that make it a Distinguished Team.