Telephone Usage Guidelines for Employees

Fraudulent Calls

Any employee found guilty of fraudulent calls will be held responsible for the entire fraudulent bill. An investigation fee may be charged in those cases where this type of fraud has been indicated and a violation of University policy occurs and may be referred to Human Resources for further action.

Warning To All Telephone Users

The law of the State of Michigan (MCL 750.219a) provides that it is a crime to knowingly obtain, or attempt to obtain, a telecommunications service with the intent to avoid lawful charges for those services. When services are obtained through unauthorized access, a counterfeit access device, or a fraudulent or deceptive scheme, the law has been violated. Possible criminal charges range from a misdemeanor, with a maximum penalty of 93 days in jail and/or a fine of $500, up to a felony with the maximum penalty of 10 years in prison and/or a fine of $15,000.

Threatening, Obscene, Nuisance, Or Harassment Calls

Michigan State Law (Public Act No. 328 of 1931) prohibits the use of telephone communication for these types of calls and provides that any person violating this statute may be imprisoned for not more than 6 months, or fined not more than $1000.00 or both.

If you receive a call in any of the above categories, record the following information:

  • The exact time of the call
  • The duration of the call
  • The telephone number on which you received the call
  • What was said by the caller
  • Any background noise, echoes, etc


Telephone Equipment Responsibility

All telephones, associated wiring, and equipment on campus are the property of Ferris State University. Employees are responsible for all damages done to the property that are over and above normal wear. If this equipment is damaged, the employee/department responsible will be billed.

Last modified: 8/1/2011