FerrisConnect > New Features > Hiding Unused Courses

These set of instructions are also available in PDF format

Show / Hide Courses

Many of you used to hide the courses you no longer wanted to see in FerrisConnect Vista. You still have this capability in FerrisConnect Learn. Log in to Blackboard and if you hover your mouse over the My Courses module, you will see a gear. Click on the gear.

hide_course_1

After clicking on the gear, the Edit Course List shows up. Just uncheck the box in the Course Name column to remove the item from your My Courses module. Click the Submit button and you will no longer see the courses in the My Courses listing when you log in.

hide_course_2

Show / Hide Course ID

You can also show or hide the Course ID. Log in to Blackboard and if you hover your mouse over the My Courses module, you will see a gear. Click on the gear. Uncheck the box in the Course ID column if you do not want to see the numbers preceding the course name. Click the Submit button.

Edit Course ID Image

In the image below, you can see what the course name looks like with and without the Course ID.

Example Image of Course Name With and Without Course ID

Edit Your Course Name

You can also control how the name of your course is displayed. Log in to Blackboard and go into the course that you want to edit.

On the left menu, go to the control panel, expand the Customization menu and select Properties.

In properties, you can edit the Course Name. You can also make the course unavailable to students until the first day of class in Option 3. Click the Submit button.

Example Image of Customization Menu in the Control Panel
Example of Course Properties Page

Notice what the original course name was in the screen shot above. You can see in the screen shot below what it has been changed to display as in the My Courses module.

What course name looks like in My Courses module after changing the Course Name.

Last updated: 04-11-2013